In The Land Of FREE we still Keep on Rockin'

It's Not Dark Yet

Plain and Fancy

Music gives soul to universe, wings to mind, flight to imagination, charm to sadness, and life to everything.


Monday, February 28, 2022

Ross - Ross (1974 uk, magnificent funky jazzy soft prog rock, 2019 korean remaster)

In 1973, Bob Jackson was recruited as the new keyboard player in Rigor Mortis as part of the latest lineup of musicians so John Entwistle could go out on tour to promote his new solo album "Rigor Mortis Sets In" after its release in May. Because The Who were about to go in the studio within a few weeks to start recording "Quadrophenia", the touring plans had to be postponed. As a result of the change in plans, the latest version of the Rigor Mortis band was changed to be called Ross, with Alan Ross as the group leader. 

Ross was signed by Robert Stigwood's RSO Records and recorded their debut album in The Who's new studio in Battersea, London. It was called Ramport Studios (a.k.a. The Kitchen). This is where The Who recorded their new "Quadrophenia" album. Ross toured twice in the U.S. to promote their first album, the second one being in the summer of 1974 as the opening act for Eric Clapton (also managed by Stigwood). In 1974, Ross recorded a follow-up album, this time in Hollywood with The Doors' producer Bruce Botnick. The songs were based on Edgar Allan Poe's poetry about "The Pit & The Pendulum," but it failed to catch on with the record buying public. After the Clapton tour in August, Bob Jackson decided to quit the band.
by Denny Hoekstra

1. Alright By Me (Alan Ross, Bob Jackson, Steve Emery) - 6:22
2. You're Looking Down A Road - 4:35
3. Wherever You Go - 3:59
4. Caroline - 3:31
5. Changes - 3:46
6. Help Me Understand - 6:40
7. Blackbird - 3:12
8. I Need Your Love - 3:33
9. Buxton - 3:57
10.Leave It All Behind You - 4:02
All songs by Alan Ross except track #1

*Alan Ross - Lead Vocals, Guitars & Filing Cabinet
*Steve Emery - Bass Guitar, Vocals
*Bob Jackson - Keyboards, Vocals, String Machine
*Tony Fernandez - Drums, Percussion
*Reuben White - Percussion

Related Act



  1. Thank you"MARIOS"for this great album.Cheers...

  2. I've been trying all day and all I gt is "You have reached the limit of connections from your IP range, try downloading again in 09 minutes 31 second seconds." WTF?

    You need to try-out Mega... it's insanely fast!

  3. But then Marios would get no advertising revenue, and that would be very sad indeed.

  4. have you seen many ads here?

  5. @leesa: Try clearing everything in your cache (cookies, etc), that may help, especially if you have a dynamic IP address (the type that dial-up and DSL type connections use). If you're still stuck in the timer loop, try restarting your computer, which will sometimes clear the problem for static IP addresses (the type that cable and fiber optic connections usually have). I sometimes get stuck in that sort of loop for three or four 10-minute periods, but usually no more than that.

    Mega has its good points, but doesn't work for everyone... like ME. My Chrome browser will no longer go to Mega's site, it's blocked because of some certificate issue, or so the error message says. I can go to Mega on Firefox, but can download only small files, the larger ones crash the browser and are lost when the download is finished. This is due to the age of my computer and memory limitations. I like the hosts Marios is using, just have to wait a bit between downloads with a free account.


  6. Thanx Mike!
    It turned-out to be my VPN acting-up...
    I wonder what your problem with Mega is. Its insanely fast for me. I get full 4GB VIDEO_TS files from PinkRobert in a half Hour.
    Thanx again!

  7. "But then Marios would get no advertising revenue, and that would be very sad indeed"

    Mario's doing this on his own...he's not getting anything from it other than people complaining or reporting the links.

    The irony here is...if these weren't posted by music afficionados such as Marios, we would never hear them because they're not available anywhere?!

    Kudos to you mate...thanks for trying to open up musical spectrum to everyone...cheers

  8. "if these weren't posted by music afficionados such as Marios, we would never hear them because they're not available anywhere?!"

    I call BS. What is posted are CD releases that anyone could buy online but opt for illegally downloading it instead. Face facts man.