In The Land Of FREE we still Keep on Rockin'

It's Not Dark Yet

Plain and Fancy

Music gives soul to universe, wings to mind, flight to imagination, charm to sadness, and life to everything.


Thursday, June 15, 2017

Christopher Kearney - Pemmican Stash (1973 canada, wonderful folk country classic rock, 2014 korean remaster)

Toronto-born Christopher Kearney moved to the cottage area of Lindsay, Ontario at age 4. He became serious about music in the mid-60's after relocating to the US West coast where he met Gordon Lightfoot who put up the money for his first demo recordings.

In 1970, Apex Records released Kearney's first single "Theme For Jody". He returned to Toronto in 1971 and used his Lightfoot connection to land a publishing deal with Early Morning Music and an album deal with Sun Dog Productions who signed him to Capitol Records.

His first self-titled album was released in 1972 and spawned the single "Loosen Up". His career became a whirlwind of touring throughout the US in folk clubs and festivals with opening slots next to the likes of Anne Murray. Kearney went to Brazil in 1972 with The Stampeders to represent Canada at the Seventh Rio International Song Festival held in Rio de Janeiro.

A follow-up LP, 'Pemmican Stash', was released in 1973 and Kearney's career slowly faded shortly after 1975's 'Sweetwater'.

In the early ‘80s Kearney joined China with fellow Canadians Bill King and Danny McBride for one album on CBS Records.

Kearney returned to the spotlight briefly in 1993 when he wrote "A Letter From Sarajevo" with Scott Lane and Neil Dobson that accompanied a star-studded public service video about the plight of children in the war-torn city of Sarajevo in Bosnia.

Kearney is currently living in San Diego, California and released a new album in 2008 called "Just A Step Away". 

1. The Hobo's Creed - 4:00
2. Jubal's Dream - 3:18
3. Sarah's Stopover (Jim Laramie) - 3:52
4. Youngbird (Christopher Kearney, Josh Onderisin) - 3:08
5. One Helluva Rock 'N' Roll Band (Christopher Kearney, Josh Onderisin) - 4:48
6. Shot Down - 3:09
7. Remember Me My Brother - 4:00
8. The Ballad Of William Bent - 6:48
9. A Taste Of Snow - 4:22
Music and Lyrics by Christopher Kearney except where noted

*Christopher Kearney - Vocals, Acoustic, Electric Guitars
*Josh Onderisin - Acoustic, Electric Lead Guitars
*Jim Laramie - Bass
*Gord Neave - Drums
*D'Arcy Wickham - Background Vocals
*Gord Noore - Background Vocals
*Duane Ford - Keyboards
*Ralph Cole - Slide Guitar
*Larry Good - Banjo
*Ollie Strong - Steel Guitar
*Jerry Cingolani - Cordovox
*Bruce Good - Autoharp

Free Text
the Free Text