In The Land Of FREE we still Keep on Rockin'

It's Not Dark Yet

Plain and Fancy

Music gives soul to universe, wings to mind, flight to imagination, charm to sadness, and life to everything.


Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Mayfly - Mayfly (1973 holland, marvelous progressive folk rock, rare korean remaster)

It takes a Korean label to reissue one of the best Dutch albums ever! Mayfly was a progressive folkrock unit from the town of Bergen. In the period '72-'74 they released a couple of singles and this utterly tasteful (and now highly collectable) LP through Ariola Records. 

The album includes beautiful tracks, with equally fine arrangements (Left Banke- and Montage-fans, check out the exquisite cello and violin parts!), s.a. the superb single 'Topless Bertha' and the wonderful 'Symptons Of Summer', which is also featured on the compilation 'Dutch Rare Folk'. A fascinating reissue!

1. From Now On - 4:46
2. Symptoms Of Summer - 3:50
3. Dawn Of An Old Man's Life - 3:12
4. The Smell Of It - 3:09
5. Lemoncake - 4:15
6. The Stable - 3:08
7. Intermezzo (Onno Verburg, Arie De Geus) - 1:07
8. Secondhand Dream - 3:36
9. Blue Sofa - 3:01
10.She Leaveth Me - 3:09
11.Topless Bertha - 3:32
All Music written by Gustaaf Verburg, all Lyrics by Ide Min except where noted.

*Maarten Min - Vocals
*Gustaaf Verburg - 6-String Acoustic, Electric Guitars, Electric 12-String, All Lead, Slide Guitar, Piano, Vocals
*Onno Verburg - 6-String Acoustic, Electric Guitars, Acoustic 12-String, Spanish Guitar
*Arie De Geus - Electric, Acoustic Violin, Electric Piano
*Rinus Groeneveld - Flute, Sax
*Huub Nijhuis - Cello, Bass Guitar
*Ide Min - Demo Recordings

Free Text

Them - Them (1970 us/uk, rude acid garage 'n' beat)

The complicated life of this legendary R 'n' B outfit was almost over when this, their penultimate album, appeared in 1970. Astonishingly, by then they were reduced to a duo consisting of original bassist Alan Henderson and US vocalist / percussionist Jerry Cole, with studio support said to have come from Ry Cooder and Jack Nitzsche. 

The music ranges from pounding psychedelia (‘I Keep Singing’) and snotty garage punk (‘Lonely Weekends’, a shameless rewrite of ‘Gloria’) to furious rock and roll (‘Jo Ann’) and even a country ballad (‘Take A Little Time’). As the original sleevenotes declared: “The THEM sound combines the typical British style with an air of mystery and an atmosphere of excitement… mythical, mystical, Oriental, African, electronic and computer rhythms included.”

1. I Keep Singing (Jerry Cole) - 4:26
2. Lonely Weekends (Charlie Rich) - 2:32
3. Take a Little Time (Ron Joelson) - 2:13
4. You Got Me Good (Shawn Rudd) - 2:42
5. Jo Ann (Buddy Knox, Vance Smith) - 2:55
6. Memphis Lady (Jerry Cole) - 3:00
7. In The Midnight Hour (Wlison Pickett, Steve Cropper) - 2:39
8. Nobody Cares (Robert Duncan, Chad Garrett) - 2:47
9. I Am Waiting (Mick Jagger, Keith Richards) - 3:23
10. Just a Little (Ron Elliott) - 1:51

Jerry Cole - Lead Vocals, Guitar, Drums
Alan Henderson – Bass

1965-66  The Wheels - Road Block
1967  Them - Now And Them
1967  Belfast Gypsies
1968-69  Them - Time Out Time In
1969-70  Truth - Of Them And Other Tales
1970-71  Rod Demick And Herbie Armstrong - Little Willie Ramble

Jerry Cole acts
1967  The Id - Inner Sounds Of The Id
1967-68  The Animated Egg

Free Text
Just Paste