In The Land Of FREE we still Keep on Rockin'

It's Not Dark Yet

Plain and Fancy

Music gives soul to universe, wings to mind, flight to imagination, charm to sadness, and life to everything.


Saturday, March 23, 2013

Hydra - Land Of Money (1975 us, hard southern rockin')

Hydra’s second essay titled "Land Of Money",  rolls on the same hard Southern rails as their debut, but having a little bit more tougher directions, bringing to mind the  bands like Bad Company not only as musical style but in vocals also.

Hydra comprise by excellent musicians,  playing remarkably their southern  hard rock crossbreed , there are of course references to Allman Brothers and Lynyrd Skynyrd.

The album was recorded in spring 1975 and released during the summer.

1. Little Miss Rock N' Roll (W. Bruce, S. Kirkpatrick, S. Pace) - 2:33
2. The Pistol (W. Bruce, S. Kirkpatrick) - 4:37
3. Makin' Plans (W. Bruce) - 2:32
4. Land of Money (W. Bruce, S. Kirkpatrick) - 6:28
5. Get Back to the City (W. Bruce, S. Kirkpatrick) - 3:31
6. Don't Let Time Pass You By (W. Bruce, S. Kirkpatrick) - 4:50
7. Let the Show Go On (W. Bruce, S. Kirkpatrick) - 3:27
8. Slow and Easy (W. Bruce, Johnny Sandlin) - 3:44
9. Take Me for My Music (Will Boulware) - 2:57

*Wayne Bruce - Vocals, Rhythm ,  Acoustic Guitars
*Spencer Kirkpatrick – Lead,  Slide, Acoustic Guitars
*Orville Davis - Bass
*Steve Pace - Drums
*Chuck Leavell - Keyboards, Synthesizer
*Will Boulware - Organ
*Bill Stewart - Percussion
*Johnny Sandlin - Percussion

1974  Hydra

Free Text

Hydra - Hydra (1974 us, great tough 'n' roll to southern edges)

The band began life in the late '60s, evolving from "Noah Mayflower" through "Osmosis" and finally becoming "HYDRA". They built a rock solid reputation as one of the top club bands in the south. 

In 1973 they signed a recording contract with Capricorn Records, for whom they recorded two albums - the self titled debut in 1974, and "Land of Money" the following year. 

In 1977 HYDRA became a three-piece band when Orville Davis left (with Wayne Bruce moving to bass) and they moved to the Polydor label, releasing their most sucessful album, "Rock The World". Unfortunately, this title has never been released as a CD and is, therefore, now also the rarest of their releases. Sadly, HYDRA had run it's course, and disbanded within months of the release. 

Although there have been occasional reunions HYDRA is currently inactive. However, it should be remembered that any band with a legacy and a reputation as rich and wide as theirs cannot be dismissed as defunct - you just never know when they might resurface. HYDRA continues to maintain a fanbase all over the world, and continue to discuss the possibility of writing and recording of new material. 

1.Glitter Queen - 4:02
2.Keep You Around - 5:16
3.It's So Hard (Music by Kirkpatrick, W. Bruce) - 4:45
4.Going Down (Don Nix) - 3:07
5.Feel A Pain (Will Boulware) - 6:24
6.Good Time Man (Words by W. Bruce, Steve Pace) - 3:23
7.Let Me Down Easy - 4:20
8.Warp 16 (S. Pace, S. Kirkpatrick, W. Bruce, Trip Burgess) - 4:20
9.If You Care To Survive - 2:54
10. Miriam - 7:42
Music by Spencer Kirkpatrick Lyrics by Wayne Bruce, exept where indicated

*Wayne Bruce - Vocals, Guitar
*Spencer Kirkpatrick – Lead, Slide, String Acoustic Guitar
*Orville Davis - Bass Guitar
*Steve Pace - Drums
*Dan Turbeville - Keyboards
*Randal Bramblett - Alto Sax
*Earl Ford - Trombone
*Oscar Jackson - Tenor Sax
*Todd Logan - Trumpet

Free Text