In The Land Of FREE we still Keep on Rockin'

I was so much older then, I'm younger than that now

Plain and Fancy

"I hope for nothing, I fear nothing, I am free"

Tuesday, April 10, 2012

SRC - Lost Masters (1970-72 us, detroit raw garage psych rock)

Consisting of an amalgam of leftover and unreleased material recorded after leaving Capitol, and both early and late non-album singles, this compilation will be of interest for ardent SRC followers, but is not an advisable introduction. The psychedelia, '70s rock, and soul/R&B do not sit too easily together, which is not surprising either as this set is intentionally and odds and ends package.

And as that, it works extremely well. "After Your Heart," "Gypsy Eyes," "Love Is Here Now," "Cry of the Lonely," and the moody instrumental "Valerie" could have quite easily fit on Milestones and indeed are comparable to any of their best releases. A more commercial soul sound was adopted a little later, and in working with Motown producers, a horn section, and female backing vocalists Scott Richardson attempted to emulate his black brethren.

Material performed in this manner includes covers of the Animals' "I'm Crying," Holland-Dozier-Holland's "Heatwave," and heroes the Pretty Things' "Out in the Night," which while playable are not a match of earlier efforts. Of more interest from this era are "Evil," (SRC parodying Howlin' Wolf) and a number of laid-back numbers, such as "No Rules in Love" that hint at how they would of sounded if they continued in a more soft rock vein.

All in all a very good album of perhaps Detroit's best and yet least recognized '60s band. After buying the re-releases of the originals, this is the next step to complete the picture.
by Jon "Mojo" Mills

The first ten tracks represent what would have been SRC's fourth album. The second ten tracks "...represent various stylistic experiments...", where Gary Quackenbush had rejoined the band and Richard Haddad was added on bass and vocals. Richard died in an automobile accident in Los Angeles in 1977 and "Lost Masters" is dedicated to him per the suggestion of Gary Quackenbush.

1. After Your Heart  (Quackenbush, Richardson) - 3:26
2. Gypsy Eyes - 4:11
3. Valerie (Quackenbush, Richardson) - 3:43
4. Love Is Here Now - 5:00
5. (Love Is Like A) Heat Wave (Dozier, Holland, Holland) - 2:57
6. Out in the Night (May, Taylor) - 2:46
7. Badaz Shuffle - 3:14
8. Eliza Green the Shimmie Queen - 3:36
9. My Sunday's Gone (Quackenbush, Richardson) - 3:59
10.Never Let Your Daystar Fade Away (Quackenbush, Richardson) - 3:13
11.Born to Love - 2:54
12.No Rules in Love (Quackenbush, Richardson) - 3:54
13.The Deeper the Longer  - 2:33
14.Lovelight (Dozier, Holland) - 3:08
15.Cry in the Lonely - 3:26
16.Get the Picture  (May, Taylor) - 2:29
17.Evil  (Dixon) - 4:04
18.I'm Crying  (Burdon, Price) - 4:35
19.Ride the Wind  (Richardson) - 3:04
20.Richard's Song - 3:50
All songs by Clawson, Quackenbush, Quackenbush, Richardson, except where indicated.

*Gary Quackenbush - Guitars
*Glenn Quackenbush - Keyboards, Vocals
*Scott Richardsonn - Vocals
*E.G. Clawson - Drums, Percussion, Vocals
*Richard Haddad - Bass, Vocals

1968  SRC (2010 Micro Werks edition)

Free Text
Text Host

Doctor K's Blues Band - Doctor K's Blues Band (1968 uk, fabulous electric psych blues rock, japan mini LP replica)

Electric urban blues, particularly of the hard-hitting Chicago variety, became big news in Britain in the middle of the 1960's, not so much as performed by its American originators, but rather like the beat music and R&B which preceded it - via home grown interpretation by enthusiasts who began as fans and developed their enthusiasm as musicians.

Among the initiates on this post-R&B scene were Dr K's Blues Band, formed in Muswell Hill, North London (Kinks country!) by Ashley Hutchings, who was destined to find his folkier roots and considerably more success a couple of years later with Fairport Convention. When Hutchings moved on, the line up eventually stabilised as Mick Haase on vocals and harmonica, the enigmatic Dr. K. on piano, Geoff Krivit on lead guitar, Roger Rolt on slide and rhythm guitar, Harold Vickers on bass and Eric Peachy on drums.

Dr. K's Blues Band played the London/home counties circuit initially, but soon started to move around the country as the blues circuit spread and eventually even found himself playing gigs abroad in Italy and Denmark. Their original forte was the small club and music-featuring pub - the natural homes as it were, of an electric blues quintet in their transatlantic equivalents (honky tonk/dive). After a couple of years, however some of these smaller venues were supplanted by the university and college circuits which became very much their spiritual home.

Their successful career on the live circuit did not translate automatically into a recording deal for the band until 1968. Espying a growing musical boom. Spark Records decided to board the bandwagon by signing up some of the non-contracted groups on the blues circuit and approached Dr. K's manager, Roger Simpson. But Spark Records lacked the experience and expertise in promotion and distribution to ensure widespread press coverage, media exposure or high street stocking of their albums.

Eventually and inevitably, the original band started to break up as the decade drew to a close. Eric the drummer was the first to leave, being replaced by Jeff Alien. By the middle of the 1970's, only Mick Haase and Roger Rolt remained of the original members. The whole team decided to call it a day and split up.

1. I Can't Lose - 2:50
2. Walking - 3:26
3. Pet Cream Man - 2:09
4. Messin' With Kid - 2:02
5. Key To The Highway - 6:26
6. Crippled Clarence - 2:45
7. Don't Quit The Man You Love, For Me - 2:24
8. Rolty's Banjo Shuffle - 2:10
9. Strobe Lemming's Lament - 1:46
10.Long Distance Call - 4:30
11. I Feel So Bad - 2:49

Dr K's Blues Band
*Mick Hasse - Harmonica, Vocals
*Geoff Krivit - Bass, Guitar
*Eric Peachey - Drums
*Roger Rolt - Guitar, Rhythm Guitar, Slide Guitar, National Steel Guitar
*Harold Vickers - Bass
*Richard Kay - Piano

Free Text
Free Text II