In The Land Of FREE we still Keep on Rockin'

It's Not Dark Yet

Plain and Fancy

Music gives soul to universe, wings to mind, flight to imagination, charm to sadness, and life to everything.


Tuesday, January 3, 2017

Mott The Hoople - Mott The Hoople (1969 uk, superb debut album, 2003 bonus tracks remaster)

Enough works on Mott the Hoople's eponymous debut album, and enough is so imaginatively freewheeling, that it's easier to think of the record as a bit more successful than it actually is. After all, their combination of Stonesy swagger, Kinks-ian crunch, and Dylanesque cynicism is one of the great blueprints for hard rock, and its potential is apparent the moment their monumental instrumental "You Really Got Me" kicks off the record. This is followed by two covers, Doug Sahm's "At the Crossroads" and Sonny Bono's "Laugh at Me," that demonstrate their musicality more than their depth, since all three of these songs sound like they derive from the same vantage point. 

Then, to cap it off, Ian Hunter turns in "Backsliding Fearlessly" and Mick Ralphs gives Mott their first anthem with the pile-driving "Rock and Roll Queen." Up to this point, Mott the Hoople is wildly imaginative and invigorating, and that's enough to make this a fine debut, even if it falls off the tracks during the second side. The first side and those two originals reveal a band whose rowdy power is matched by sly humor, clever twists, and fierce intelligence -- all qualities they built a career on, and this blueprint still stands the test of time. 
by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1. You Really Got Me (Ray Davies) 2.55
2. At the Crossroads (Doug Sahm) 5.33
3. Laugh at Me (Sony Bono) 6.32
4. Backsliding Fearlessly (Ian Hunter) 3.47
5. Rock and Roll Queen (Mike Ralphs) 5.10
6. Rabbit Foot and Toby Time (Mike Ralphs)2.04
7. Half Moon Bay (Mike Ralphs, Ian Hunter) 10.38
8. Wrath and Wroll (Guy Stevens) 1.49
9. Ohio (Neil Young) 4.26
10.Find Your Way (Mike Ralphs) 3.30
Bonus Tracks 9-10

Mott The Hoople
*Ian Hunter - Lead Vocals, Piano
*Pete "Overend" Watts - Bass
*Mick Ralphs - Lead Guitar, Vocals
*Verden Allen - Organ
*Dale Griffin - Drums

1966/90  Doc Thomas Group And The Silence - The Italian Job / Shotgun Eyes
1970  Mott The Hoople - Mad Shadows (2003 Extra Tracks Remaster)
1971  Mott The Hoople - Wildlife (2003 japan bonus tracks remaster)
1971  Mott The Hoople - Brain Capers (bonus tracks remaster)

Free Text
Text Host