In The Land Of FREE we still Keep on Rockin'

It's Not Dark Yet

Plain and Fancy

Music gives soul to universe, wings to mind, flight to imagination, charm to sadness, and life to everything.


Friday, January 6, 2017

Mott The Hoople - Mott (1973 uk, electrifying glam rock, 2006 remaster and expanded)

All the Young Dudes actually brought Mott the Hoople success, but you wouldn't know that from its sequel, Mott.  Ian Hunter's songs are a set of road tales fraught with exhaustion, disillusionment, and dashed dreams, all told with a wry sense of humor so evident on Mott's earlier work. This is no ordinary road album where a band whines about the perils of traveling -- it's more of a wry commentary on rock 'n' roll itself, which, as Hunter notes, is a loser's game. Mott doesn't sound that way, though -- it's as winning and infectious as rock 'n' roll gets. 

Even with the undercurrents of ironic despair and restrained hostility, this is a fun record (partially because of that despair and hostility, of course). This sounds better, looser, than All the Young Dudes, as the band jives through All the Way from Memphis and Honaloochie Boogie, beats the living hell outta Violence, swaggers on Whizz Kid, and simply drives it home on Drivin' Sister. 

Apart from the New York Dolls (who, after all, were in a league of their own), glam never sounds as rock as it does here. To top it all off, Hunter writes the best lament for rock ever with Ballad of Mott the Hoople, a song that conveys just how heartbreaking rock & roll is for the average band. If that wasn't enough, he trumps that song with the closer I Wish I Was Your Mother, a peerless breakup song that still surprises, even after it's familiar. It's a graceful, unexpected way to close a record that stands as one of the best of its era. 
by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1. All the Way from Memphis - 5:02
2. Whizz Kid - 3:25
3. Hymn for the Dudes (Verden Allen, Ian Hunter) - 5:24
4. Honaloochie Boogie (Ian Hunter, Mick Ralphs) - 2:43
5. Violence (Ian Hunter, Mick Ralphs) - 4:48
6. Drivin’ Sister - 3:53
7. Ballad of Mott the Hoople (26th March 1972, Zurich) (Ian Hunter, Dale Buffin, Peter Watts, Mick Ralphs, Verden Allen) - 5:24
8. I’m a Cadillac/El Camino Dolo Roso (Mick Ralphs) - 7:51
9. I Wish I Was Your Mother - 4:52
10.Rose (Ian Hunter, Mick Ralphs, Peter Watts, Dale Buffin) - 3:56
11.Honaloochie Boogie (Ian Hunter, Mick Ralphs) - 3:07
12.Nightmare (Verden Allen) - 3:36
13.Drivin' Sister (Ian Hunter, Mick Ralphs) - 4:30
All songs written by Ian Hunter, except where indicated
Track 10 B-side of Honaloochie Boogie; produced by Mott The Hoople
Tracks 11-12 Demo recordings
Track 13 Live 1973 at the Hammersmith Odeon; produced by Dale Buffin Griffin

Mott The Hoople
*Ian Hunter - Vocals, Piano, Guitar
*Mick Ralphs - Vocals, Guitar
*Pete Overend Watts - Bass Guitar, Vocals
*Dale Buffin Griffin - Drums, Vocals, Percussion
Additional Personnel
*Paul Buckmaster - Electric Cello
*Morgan Fisher - Backing Vocals, Piano, Synthesizer
*Mick Hince - Bells
*Andy Mackay - Saxophone
*Graham Preskett - Violin
*Thunderthighs (Karen Friedman, Dari Lalou, Casey Synge) - Backing Vocals

1966/90  Doc Thomas Group And The Silence - The Italian Job / Shotgun Eyes
1969  Mott The Hoople - Mott The Hoople (2003 bonus tracks remaster)
1970  Mott The Hoople - Mad Shadows (2003 Extra Tracks Remaster)
1971  Mott The Hoople - Wildlife (2003 japan bonus tracks remaster)
1971  Mott The Hoople - Brain Capers (bonus tracks remaster)
1972  Mott The Hoople - All The Young Dudes (2006 bonus tracks remaster)

Free Text
the Free Text