In The Land Of FREE we still Keep on Rockin'

It's Not Dark Yet

Plain and Fancy

Music gives soul to universe, wings to mind, flight to imagination, charm to sadness, and life to everything.


Friday, May 13, 2022

Axis - Someone (1972 greece, epic fusion prog rock, 2013 edition)

"Someone" was an album from Axis, a band with Greek musicians who based in Paris. They played archetypical heavy progressive rock with great organ and electric guitars, with couple of tracks were even in line with the british mellotron-rock.

Axis disbanded in 1974, after the release of their third album. Like their more illustrious compatriots (Aphrodite's Child) they succeeded in breaking into the hit lists, with a Greek traditional called Ela Ela. Axis was also the backing band for the early recotdings by Demis Roussos, after the Aphrodite's Child split.

The last two songs are propably the best on the album, with prog experimentalism that included multi instrumental jams,  Keyboard heavy with quirky sounds.  One of the listenable obscurities this is worth the spin. Cool album cover.
1. Osanna (Boris Bergman, Ivano Fossati, Nico Di Palo) - 3:05
2. Living In - 3:52
3. Shine Lady Shine - 3:13
4. Dedicated - 4:50
5. Nothing To Say - 3:02
6. Someone (Doug Flett, Guy Fletcher) - 3:36
7. Long Time Ago - 3:03
8. Ela Ela (Traditional) - 3:08
9. Thought - 5:33
10.Bad Trip - 5:24
All compositions by Alecos Caracandas, Demis Visvikis, George Hadjiathanassiou, Demetris Katakuzinos except where stated

*Alecos Caracandas - Lead, Acoustic Guitar, Vocals
*Demis Visvikis - Harpsichord, Piano, Organ, Lead Vocals
*George Hadjiathanassiou - Drums, Percussion, Vocals
*Demetris Katakuzinos - Acoustic Guitar, Bass, Lead Vocals