In The Land Of FREE we still Keep on Rockin'

It's Not Dark Yet

Plain and Fancy

Music gives soul to universe, wings to mind, flight to imagination, charm to sadness, and life to everything.


Saturday, September 21, 2013

Charles And Morgan - Homework (1974 germany, remarkable acid folk psych rock with blues and jazz elements, Vinyl issue)

Dieter Kaspari (Morgan) was born in Aachen in 1947 and remained faithful in his town ever since. Leaving aside the numerous touring musician since 1965, including 12 years as a pro in various bands, including Cave Dwellers or Credo in Aachen particularly Truss still enjoys a legendary are more important for Kaspari but the two and a half years on the road working with Champion Jack Dupree and many other American blues legends. 

Great long tours with Charles & Morgan, as opening act for Golden Earring and Greenslade, since 1978 as a commercial photographer, plus numerous photography books and exhibitions reputation. Mixes currently the city with original Öcher blues, as a singer, guitarist and harmonica player in the Bluesbüllen, formerly known as "blu 'heat'. Charly Büchel is known as Charly McLion and makes electronic music, eLounge ', between Enigma, Enya and Pat Metheny. 

"Homework" recorded in 1974  is a pretty transparent record. The nine songs (about 41 minutes) are playful immensely cheerful and blue love, full of oblique and witty psychedelic moments with changes in mood, irritable and melancholy in all its facets,  can be best  enjoyed, dancing, driving a car and watching the rain when it rains.

"Sesame stress" is instrumental, a perfect introduction. "Hey Man" has thoughtful epic, the Acid Folk is timeless and fresh and loose, finally swims like a fish in water, sung by kids voice, the band takes the children's song like "Five Little Fishes" gentle and tender before the percussion only knows a concept: who are crazy!

"Getaway" tends to rock, the semi-acoustic blues of Morgan's strong voice and acoustic guitar, the drums rock loose and playful, and a fine guitar solo. The "Thieke Blues" ends the first side of the LP. 

"Let the Good Times Roll" opens the series on side two. Psychedelic Acid Blues with terrific electric and acoustic guitar to enjoy the night as the day. The three-part "Train Session" (with subtitles a Arrival b. Station Desert c. Full Steam) finished an excellent, idiosyncratic gem flamboyant, fun-loving and hearty music.  As I said, it sounds special and wonderful. 

1. Seamstress - 3:28
2. Super Ugly (Charly McLion, Dieter kaspari, H. kaspari) - 2:09
3. Hey Man - 2:54
4. Five Little Fishes (Dieter  kaspari, H. kaspari) - 2:05
5. Getaway (Charly McLion, Dieter kaspari, H. kaspari) - 3:57
6. Thieke Blues - 3:10
7. Let the Good Times Roll - 3:44
8. Rhapsody (Charly McLion) - 4:07
9. Train Session a) Arrival  (Charly McLion, Dieter kaspari, Kurt Mick) - 2:21
10.Train Session b) Desert Station  (Charly McLion, Dieter kaspari, Kurt Mick) - 2:31
11.Train Session c) Fullsteam  (Charly McLion, Dieter kaspari, Kurt Mick) - 4:40
12.Train Session d) Yawateg  (Charly McLion, Dieter kaspari, Kurt Mick) - 1:19
All songs by Charly McLion, Dieter Kaspari except where noted

*Karl-Heinz Büchel "Charly McLion" -  6, 12 String Acoustic, Electric, Steel Guitar
*Dieter Kaspari -  6, 12 String Acoustic Guitars, Bass, Harmonica
*Kurt Mick - Drums, Glockenspiel, Percussion

Free Text

Jake Holmes - A Letter To Katherine December (1968 us, marvelous experimental folk rock with baroque and jazzy feeling, Fallout mini LP issue)

Jake Holmes’ first album, 'The Above Ground Sound', generated an amazing level of interest. Of course, the fact that the album included 'Dazed And Confused' had quite a lot to do with it, but it soon became apparent that Holmes’ music, along with the work of a number of other male singer-songwriters is enjoying a bit of a renaissance at the moment. 

Jake’s second album, 'A Letter To Katherine December', a record that many critics rate even more highly than his first. This is indeed a great follow-up; an album which easily evades the shadow of its predecessor’s success and another recording that, in typical Holmes fashion, defies description. Although Rick Randle, whose bizarre bass playing was such a feature of 'The Above Ground Sound', is missing on this one, Charlie Fox’s immaculate string and horn arrangements more than compensate. Holmes’ eccentric song writing is here in all its rich diversity, the sound quality is outstanding and the production standards superb. 

As was the case with its predecessor, 'A Letter...' failed to achieve any real commercial impact, so Holmes switched to a more country feel for his next two releases. Obviously he had perplexed the people at Tower Records enough by this time as the label cancelled his contract. Without a safety net, Holmes plunged into the world of TV commercials, which, ironically, is where he was to eventually enjoy his only real financial success. Unique card wallet. 

1. Saturday Night - 2:12
2. Late Sleeping Day - 3:22
3. Chase Your Eyes - 3:28
4. The Diner Song - 2:29
5. High School Hero - 3:18
6. Moving Day  - 2:38
7. Leaves Never Break - 4:41
8. It's Always Somewhere Else - 2:30
9. Sleeping Woman - 3:12
10.Houston Street - 4:29
Words and Music by Jake Holmes.

*Jake Holmes - Vocals, Guitars
*Ted Irwin - Lead Guitar
*Charlie Fox - Horns, Strings Arragments

1967 The Above Ground Sound Of Jake Holmes 

Free Text