In The Land Of FREE we still Keep on Rockin'

It's Not Dark Yet

Plain and Fancy

Music gives soul to universe, wings to mind, flight to imagination, charm to sadness, and life to everything.


Saturday, November 3, 2012

Various Artists - Piccadilly Sunshine Part 8 (1966-71 uk, pop psych and more flavours, 2012 Particles release)

The Piccadilly Sunshine part 8 sets foot into the deep and wondrous valleys of British pop music culture from 1966 to 1971. Daring to bring forth the once-overlooked and sadly-neglected songs that were laid to waste in a saturated wonderland of suburban teenage pop. A tip-toe barefoot trip lightly through the late 1960s and early '70s in Great Britain's vast and glorious cultural dustbin. 

Includes a 16-page color booklet with comprehensive liner notes and rare color photographs. Digitally remastered. Stepping amongst the 20 flower-powered trippers presented here, together we shall lovingly restore them to their former glory.

Artists - Tracks
1 Cardboard Orchestra - Zebed Zak - 2:41
2 Cats Eyes - Circus - 2:30
3 The Nerve - Piece By Piece - 2:48
4 The Unit - Would You Belive What I Say - 2:14
5 Rifkin - We're Not Those People Anymore - 2:00
6 Mud - The Latter Days - 2:17
7 Peter Sully And The Orchard - Evil Woman - 2:43
8 The Factotums - Driftwood - 2:47
9 Granny's Intentions - Hilda The Bilda - 2:05
10 House Of Lords - Ain't Gonna Wait No More - 2:42
11 Confucius - The Message - 2:34
12 Cats Eyes - The Loser - 3:05
13 Juice - Not Enough Words - 2:41
14 Paul Layton - Sing Sadman Sing - 2:49
15 Mud - Up The Airy Mountain - 2:32
16 Persimon's Peculiar Shades - Coplington - 2:34
17 Merseys - Love Will Continue - 3:06
18 Situation - Situation-Now - 3:01
19 The Truth - Fly Away Bird - 2:24
20 Persimmon's Peculiar Shades - Watchmaker - 2:17

The Piccadilly Sunshine flavours 
1968-70  Piccadilly Sunshine Part 1
1966-71  Piccadilly Sunshine Part 2
1967-70  Piccadilly Sunshine Part 3
1967-69  Piccadilly Sunshine Part 4
1966-69  Piccadilly Sunshine Part 5
1967-70  Piccadilly Sunshine Part 6
1966-70  Piccadilly Sunshine Part 7

Free Text
Text Host

Orient Express - Orient Express (1969 iran / belgium / france, sensational oriental folk psych)

Guy Duris was born on the Left Bank, raised in heady French sunshine, and matured in the halls of European culture. A modern minstrel, he wandered and sang his songs, and began a romance with the ancient Arabic guitar, the oud. Journeying eastward, his music turned to the East. In Iran, he met Farshid Golesorkhi, the scion of a respected Persian family. Farshid, decorated by the Shah of Iran for his drumming, felt that Eastern rhythms could be applied to Western music. He found an eager co-experimenter in Guy.

Together they travelled - Guy with his guitar and oud, Farshid with his dumbeck drums. Working their way Westward, they returned to Paris, where they met Bruno Giet, a Belgian pilot and guitarist. Radio Luxembourg's progressive pop sound had shaped Bruno's musical ideas, and he moved Guy and Farshid into rock. 

Soon the three members of The Orient Express undertook another voyage - to the United States. In New York's East Village they solidified their music into the many-faceted sound you hear on this album. The marriage between Eastern and Western musical forms could easily become a self-conscious hybrid, but The Orient Express has smoothly and honestly achieved the merger individually and as a group. 

Instead of mixing cliches of each form, they have deeply explored each music, and exposed the profound similarities between their cultures... at once creating a highly original music and a timeless one.

Like the train whose name they bear, The Orient Express travels easily from West to East and back again, maintaining their individuality and integrity all the way.

1. Fruit of the Desert (Duris) - 2:54
2. Dance for Me (Duris) - 2:47
3. Layla (Duris, Golesorkhi) - 3:41
4. Birds Of India (Duris, Giet) - 3:49
5. Train To Bombay (Duris, Giet) - 2:50
6. Caravan Of Silk (Golesorkhi) - 2:45
7. Azaar (Golesorkhi) - 4:30
8. For A Moment (Giet) - 2:06
9. Impulse (Forty-Two Drums) (Golesorkhi) - 4:48
10. A Little Star (Duris, Giet) - 2:25
11.Cobra Fever (Golesorkhi, Giet) - 2:29

The Orient Express
* Guy Duris - Electric Oud, Electric Sitar, Vocals
* Bruni Giet - Electric Minitar, Vocals
* Farshid Golesorkhi - Electric Melodica, Dumbek, Tympany, Vocals

Free Text
Text Host