In The Land Of FREE we still Keep on Rockin'

It's Not Dark Yet

Plain and Fancy

Music gives soul to universe, wings to mind, flight to imagination, charm to sadness, and life to everything.


Thursday, May 17, 2012

Dino Valenti - Get Together The Lost Recordings (1964-70 us, brilliant psych folk rock, 2011 double disc limited edition)

In the early 1960s Dino Valenti performed in Greenwich Village coffee-houses, often with fellow singer-songwriters Fred Neil , Bob Dylan, Lou Gossett, Josh White, Len Chandler, Paul Stookey(of Peter, Paul & Mary) and others, influencing other performers including Richie Havens who continues to perform some of Dino's early songs.

By 1963 Valenti had relocated to Los Angeles where folk-rock had already become popular. During this period he wrote his best-known song, "Get Together", a quintessential 1960s love-and-peace anthem that was later recorded by Jefferson Airplane and became a major hit for The Youngbloods. Valenti moved north to the San Francisco Bay area where after working with several groups, played in an early line-up of the San Francisco psychedelic rock group Quicksilver Messenger Service featuring John Cipollina guitar), bassist David Freiberg, and Jim Murray harmonica/vocals).

Dino later rejoined the group in 1970 as its lead singer and main songwriter. In the late 1960s he signed as a solo artist with CBS Records, releasing an eponymous solo LP. He traveled with Quicksilver's Gary Duncan to New York in January 1969 to form a new band to be called The Outlaws, while Quicksilver's noted album 'Happy Trails' album was released in March. While Valenti and Duncan were in New York, British keyboardist Nicky Hopkins joined Quicksilver for their third album, 'Shady Grove' (December 1969).

Eight of the nine songs on the group's next album, Just for Love (August, 1970) were written by Valenti, six of them under the pseudonym of Jesse Oris Farrow. He remained the chief songwriter on their next album, in December, 'What About Me?'. Despite occasional personnel changes, the band released 'Quicksilver' (1971) and 'Comin' Thru' (1972) before disbanding. The 2-LP 'Anthology' was issued in 1973 and a tour and the album, 'Solid Silver', appeared in 1975.

Quicksilver Messenger Service first gained popularity in San Francisco's Bay Area, and then the rest of the world through the release of their critically aclaimed albums. Several of the group's LPs reached the Top 30 on the Billboard Pop charts. With their jazz and classical influences, as well as a strong folk background, QMS attempted to create a sound that was individual and innovative. Dino Valenti drew heavily on his early folk music influences. According to John Cipollina, “It was Valenti who organized the group. 

I can remember everything Dino said. 'We were all going to have wireless guitars. We were going to have leather jackets made with hooks that we could hook these wireless instruments right into. And we were gonna have these chicks, backup rhythm sections that were gonna dress like American Indians with real short little dresses on and they were gonna have tambourines and the clappers in the tambourines were going to be silver coins.' And I'm sitting there going, 'This guy is gonna happen and we're gonna set the world on its ear.' "

Dino Valenti passed away in 1994. According to his son, Joli, his father recorded a multitude of songs that were never released. The songs on the release, “Get Together” were recorded during the period from 1964 to 1970 but were only recently found in a storage area in Northern California. In an effort to be authentic, licensed the cover photo from Herb Green who is famous for taking the cover shot for Jefferson Airplane’s 'Surrealistic Pillow'. The song “Get Together” was never released on a Dino Valenti or Quicksilver album. Its only appearance came on the Rhino box set entitled 'Love Is The Song We Sing' – a 4 CD collection of recordings by Bay Area artists from the Sixties. 

Disc 1
1. Get Together - 3:02
2. One Thousand Miles An Hour - 4:42
3. Ain’t That A Shame - 9:31
4. Silver Dagger - 5:12
5. Strange World - 4:30
6. I’ll Try Something New (Smokey Robinson) - 3:19
7. Star Rider - 3:38
8. County Fair - 13:09
9. Crossroads - 3:50
10. Everybody Knows - 3:13
11. Midnight Rider (Gregg Allman) - 2:48
12. The Letter - 4:57
13. That’s How It Goes - 3:59
14. To The End Of The World - 2:51

Disc 2
1. If I Had Money - 5:04
2. Star Rider (Acoustic) - 4:13
3. City Of Stone - 6:18
4. County Fair (Acoustic) - 5:15
5. Sadness of My Mind - 4:54
6.  My Guitar - 3:53
7. So Close To You - 2:52
8. If I Had Money (Acoustic) - 4:34
9. Get Together (Alternate Version) - 3:53
All songs by Dino Valenti, except where noted.

*Dino Valenti - Vocals, Guitar

The Dino Valenti story
1968  Dino Valenti 
with Quicksilver Messenger Service
1968  Q. M. S. (1st album, 2005 japan remastered mini Lp replica)
1969-70  Castles In The Sand 
1970  Just For Love  (2005 japan remastered mini Lp replica)
1970  What About Me (2005 japan remastered mini Lp replica) 
1971  Quicksilver
1972  Comin` Thru  
1975  Solid Silver

Free Text