In The Land Of FREE we still Keep on Rockin'

It's Not Dark Yet

Plain and Fancy

Music gives soul to universe, wings to mind, flight to imagination, charm to sadness, and life to everything.


Sunday, September 4, 2011

Gordon Lightfoot - Summertime Dream (1976 canada, remarkable folk rock)

  With Summertime Dream, Gordon Lightfoot produced one of his finest albums, and wrapped up a six-year period of popularity that he would not recapture. Propelled by his second biggest hit, "The Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald," Summertime Dream summed up the sound that had served Lightfoot so well in his post-"If You Could Read My Mind" days.

This distinctive sound featured Lightfoot's strummed six- or 12-string guitar complemented by Terry Clements' electric guitar lines and Pee Wee Charles' pedal steel guitar accents. The material here is excellent, and the singer's voice is at its strongest. Mixing upbeat songs like "Race Among the Ruins," "I'd Do It Again" and the title track with beautiful ballads such as "I'm Not Supposed to Care" and "Spanish Moss," Lightfoot and his band deliver a tasty smorgasbord of intelligent, grown-up music.

As for "Edmund Fitzgerald," its continued popularity more than 30 years after its release attests to the power of a well-told tale and a tasty guitar lick.
by Jim Newsom

1. Race Among the Ruins - 3:21
2. The Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald - 6:32
3. I'm Not Supposed to Care - 3:31
4. I'd Do it Again - 3:14
5. Never too Close - 3:04
6. Protocol - 4:02
7. The House You Live In - 2:55
8. Summertime Dream - 2:30
9. Spanish Moss - 3:51
10.Too Many Clues in this Room - 4:49
All songs composed by Gordon Lightfoot.

*Gordon Lightfoot - Vocals, 6- & 12-String Guitar, Piano
*Pee Wee Charles - Pedal Steel Guitar
*Terry Clements - Lead Guitar
*Rick Haynes - Bass
*Barry Keane - Drums, Percussion
*Gene Martynec - Moog Synthesizer
*Jim Gordon - Drums on "The House You Live In"

Free Text
Text Host