In The Land Of FREE we still Keep on Rockin'

It's Not Dark Yet

Plain and Fancy

Music gives soul to universe, wings to mind, flight to imagination, charm to sadness, and life to everything.


Sunday, August 21, 2022

Brethren - Brethren (1970 us, excellent country folk psych rock, 2012 korean remaster)

After graduating from Brooklyn College with a music major in 1970, Garson was a member of rock/country/jazz band Brethren with Rick Marotta, Tom Cosgrove and Stu Woods. They recorded two hard-to-find albums on the Tiffany label, which featured guest piano and liner notes by Dr. John (and album photography by Murray Head, who scored a hit with "Say it Ain't So Joe" and later with the single "One Night In Bangkok").

Garson also earned notice when he played on the I'm the One album by early 1970s experimental artist Annette Peacock. Bowie asked Peacock to join him on a tour; she declined, but Garson began an enduring relationship with Bowie.

Garson gave the piano and keyboard backing on the later Ziggy Stardust tour and his unique contribution to Aladdin Sane (1913-1938-197?) gave the song an avant-garde jazz feel with lengthy and sometimes atonal piano solos. Garson played also for Bowie's bandmate Mick Ronson on his first and last solo tour, and his first album (Slaughter on Tenth Avenue). 

Drummer Rick Marotta (who backed dozens of top artists, including John Lennon, Aretha Franklin, Paul Simon, Stevie Nicks, Steely Dan, etc.), lead singer/guitarist Tom Cosgrove (who played with Al Kooper and Todd Rundgren, among others), Bassist Stu Woods worked with (Jim Croce, Janis Ian, Tony Orlando, Barry Manilow, etc.) 

1. Midnight Train (Rick Marotta, Stu Woods, Tom Cosgrove) - 2:43
2. Don’t Talk Now (James Taylor) - 3:54
3. Mississippi Freighter (Stu Woods, Tom Cosgrove, Mark Klingman) - 3:52
4. Success Brand Oil (Tom Cosgrove, Rick Marotta, Stu Woods) - 4:51
5. Hitchin’ To Memphis (Tom Cosgrove) - 2:46
6. Everybody In The Congregation (Tom Cosgrove) - 3:55
7. I've Been Provided For (Rick Marotta, Stu Woods, Tom Cosgrove, Jay Senter) - 3:03
8. Outside Love (Tom Cosgrove) - 3:25
9. Just To Be There (Mark Klingman) - 3:09

*Stu Woods - Bass, Vocals
*Tom Cosgrove - Guitar, Percussion, Vocals
*Rick Marotta - Drums
*Mike Garson - Keyboards
*Dr. John - Keyboards
*Rusty Young - Steel Guitar
*The Blossoms - Backing Vocals