In The Land Of FREE we still Keep on Rockin'

I was so much older then, I'm younger than that now

Plain and Fancy

"I hope for nothing, I fear nothing, I am free"

Sunday, November 11, 2012

Hunter Muskett - Every Time You Move (1970 uk, sophisticated well arranged folk rock with warmly harmonic vocals, Lilith 2007 digi pack edition)

While at College Chris formed a folk band called "Hunter Muskett" with songwriter Terry Hiscock (writer of "Silver Coin" - voted as one of the best folk songs of 1973) and guitarist Doug Morter (later with Magna Carta, Richard Digance, Maddy Prior, Jerry Donahue etc.).

The trio gigged the folk clubs and released an album on the Decca label called "Every Time You Move" in 1970. Muskett then gained a bass player, Rog Trevitt, (later to gig with Doug Morter in the pub rock band Peco Orange and numerous country and western bands, most noticeably with pedal steel player Gordon Huntley of Matthew's Southern Comfort fame).

The now four piece, played George acoustics and electrics, toured at home and abroad for about four years and released a second album, produced by Keith Relf of the Yardbirds fame, simply titled "Hunter Muskett" on the newly formed "Bradleys" label.

This debut from little-known, but highly regarded folk trio Hunter Muskett is an underground gem. Packed full of earthy, original songs, it masterly skirts the boundaries of baroque pop and folk-rock. The opening title track lays out their stall perfectly: layers of acoustic guitars, a delicate beat and some lush vocal harmonising. 

The songs are purposely poetic but it never sounds forced, even on the darker tracks, such as Midsummer Night’s Dream, where the melancholy just about hangs together without sounding passe. It’s a delicious balance.
by Jan Zarebski

1. Every Time You Move (Hiscock) - 4:24
2. Hey Little Girl (George) - 5:01
3. Midsummer Night's Dream (Hiscock) - 4:06
4. Pres Gang (Hiscock, George) - 5:08
5. Storm On The Shore (Hiscock) - 4:06
6. Castle (Hiscock) - 3:39
7. I Have A House (Hiscock) - 4:14
8. Inside Mine (Hiscock) - 3:30
9. The Wait (Hiscock, George) - 2:37
10.Cardboard Man (George) - 2:18
11.Davy Lowston (Trad. Arr. Hiscock, George, Morter) - 5:09
12.Snow (Morter) - 2:05

Hunter Muskett
*Terry Hiscock - Vocals, Guitar
*Doug Morter - Vocals, Guitar
*Chris George - Vocals, Guitar
*Kim Margolis - Percussion
*John Punter - Drums

Free Text
Free Text II


Cesar said...

Thank you for this beautiful album.

Remy said...

You have been posting some truly outstanding selections Marios. Thank-you!

mscmichael said...

Never heard of them. Thanks very much...

sorogan said...

Thank You very much !!

vishangro said...

Lovely album - been looking for this for some time.

Anonymous said...

Waiting for the second album, mentioned above...produced by Keith Relf.
That would be nice.
Thanks in advance!

juan manuel muñoz said...

a lot of thanks, merry christmas and happy new year.