In The Land of Free, we still keep on Rockin'

Plain and Fancy

"I hope for nothing, I fear nothing, I am free"

Sunday, April 10, 2011

Junior's Eyes - Battersea Power Station (1967-69 uk, awesome heavy psych prog blues rock)

Junior's Eyes are one of the more well-known unknowns -- if such an oxymoron can be applied -- of the late-'60s British psychedelic scene. Most people who have seen any reference to them at all are apt to know them only as an act that served as David Bowie's backup group briefly in the late '60s. Mick Wayne, Junior's Eyes' lead guitarist and songwriter, played guitar on Bowie's "Space Oddity" and some of Bowie's other recordings.

Prior to forming Junior's Eyes, he had briefly been in the Hullaballoos, a lightweight British Invasion band that had a bit of success in the States. He had also been in the Bunch of Fives with ex-Pretty Things drummer Viv Prince. As part of the Tickle, he wrote their sole 1967 single, "Subway (Smokey Pokey World)," one of the greatest obscure psychedelic 45s. He also played acoustic guitar on James Taylor's Apple album.

All of these interesting peripheral contributions might lead one to suspect that Junior's Eyes' 1969 album, Battersea Power Station, could be a hidden nugget of psychedelia. Other than Wayne, Junior's Eyes' personnel was variable during its brief existence. Members of some note who played in the lineup at some point included drummer John Cambridge, who went on to another David Bowie backup band, the Hype; guitarist Tim Renwick, who much later would play with Pink Floyd; and Steve Chapman, who later played drums with Poco.

After Junior's Eyes broke up in early 1970, Wayne went on to session work and a stint with the Pink Fairies. Battersea Power Station was reissued on CD by Castle in 2000, with the addition of three non-LP singles, four demos, and both sides of the Tickle's 1967 single.
by Richie Unterberger

1. Total Power - 1:11
2. Circus Days - 3:42
3. Imagination - 6:09
4. My Ship - 2:47
5. Miss Lizzie - 2:53
6. So Embarrassed - 3:18
7. Freakin' - 1:51
8. Playtime - 3:55
9. I'm Drowning - 1:25
10.White Light - 6:38
11.By the Tree - 5:02
12.Mr. Golden Trumpet Player - 2:25
13.Blake Snake - 2:39
14.Woman Love - 2:39
15.Starchild - 3:57
16.Sink or Swim - 3:24
17.Circus Days (Single Version) - 2:56
18.White Light (Demo) - 5:14
19.By The Tree (Demo) - 3:52
20.Imagination (Demo) - 3:46
21.Playtime (Demo) - 3:57
22.(as The Tickle) - Subway (Smokey Pokey World) - 2:39
23.(as The Tickle) - Good Evening - 2:37

Junior's Eyes
*Mick Wayne - Guitar, Vocal
*Tim Renwick - Guitar
*Graham Kelly - Guitar
*John Lodge - Bass
*John Cambridge - Drums

Free Text
the Free Text

Muddy Waters - Electric Mud (1968 us, brilliant psych blues)

Muddy Waters to some people is the king of blues.He had many great albums, Including but not limited to:
I'm Ready, Fathers and Sons, The Real folk Blues, and Hard Again.

I think Electric Mud should be among these. When it came out though, music critics and blues purists alike did not enjoy listening to it. Muddy Waters himself hated the album. I assume they thought it took away from real blues and essential Muddy Waters 'sound', it seemed more or less like he was changing with the times to keep getting revenue from his music career.

But in some ways this album makes the 'blues' easier for newcomers to understand.Therefore giving them the desire to search out other blues artists and get tangled up in this wonderful genre and lifestyle.

'I just want to make love to you' is a wonderful song full of Pete Cosey and Phil Upchurch's excellent guitar work that is superbly put together. I do think it would be a little better if the tempo were slowed down. But that is only my personal opinion.

'(I'm Your) Hoochie Coochie Man' is a classic Water's song, that jumpstarted his career. The guitars perfectly accompany Muddy's voice bringing the point home.

'Let's spend the Night Together' is actually a Rolling Stones cover that definitely showcases the singer's talent.

'She's Alright' is a blues-rock song through and through. One of the best songs off the entire album.

'Mannish Boy' is another classic Muddy Water's song that is very well put together but doesn't give justice to the original acoustic version.

'Herbert Harper's Free Press News' is an Ok song, but it could be better. One could call it unique.

'Tom Cat' is just such an awe-inspiring song that promotes cool, evokes cool, and simply is cool.

'The Same Thing' is the ultimate conclusion to this great album.

Other blues enthusiasts might not like electric Mud but it's my favorite Muddy Waters Album. Live the blues.
Sputnik Music

1. I Just Want To Make Love To You - 4:19
2. I'm Your Hoochie Coochie Man - 4:53
3. Let's Spend the Night Together - 3:12
4. She's Alright - 6:36
5. Mannish Boy - 3:50
6. Herbert Harper's Free Press News - 4:40
7. Tom Cat - 3:42
8. The Same Thing - 5:42

*Muddy Waters – Vocal
*Gene Barge – Tenor Saxophone
*Phil Upchurch – Guitars
*Roland Faulkner – Guitars
*Pete Cosey – Guitars
*Charles Stepney – Organ
*Louis Satterfield – Bass
*Morris Jennings – Drums

Flac + Separate Files + Artwork - 255mb
(Thanx to original uploader)