In The Land Of FREE we still Keep on Rockin'

It's Not Dark Yet

Plain and Fancy

Music gives soul to universe, wings to mind, flight to imagination, charm to sadness, and life to everything.


Thursday, March 24, 2011

The Stooges - Fun House (1970 us, Rhino original packing remaster)

With Fun House, Iggy created the perfect rock album. Writing songs around Ron Asheton's amazing riffs, The Stooges assembled the live set that would become Fun House. Balancing their love of John Cage, Sun Ra, John Coltrane and Harry Partch with dumb rock, they fine tuned their performances with military precision. Appropriately, the label assigned Don Galluci, organist on The Kingsmen's "Louie Louie" to attempt to get the live sound on tape.

At first he didn't think it could be done. But he stripped the L.A. studio of its carpet and drapes, hotwired Iggy's vocals live, and let rip a song a day, in the order they'd appear on the album. It's fascinating to hear some of the early mixes on disc two. Despite being on various substances, the band was incredibly focused. It's amazing to hear how they went from the rough takes to the perfect cuts used on the album within a single day.

The predatory bass-and-drums riff of 'Down On The Street' gives the impression of a coiled panther ready to pounce, while 'Loose' breaks the damn and lets the floods roar, reaching its first peak in the maelstrom that is 'T.V. Eye,' which is much more successful at an orgiastic money shot than 'Whole Lotta Love.' 'Dirt' slows down to roll about in gutter poetry, and damn if it isn't sensual. '1970,' a classic covered by the likes of The Damned and Mission of Burma, brings the energy level back to mayhem, while 'Fun House' is the aqueous portal to the album's heart of darkness.

It's an even more hedonistic 'Sister Ray,' pretzel-knotted with ecstatic jazz and primal screams. 'L.A. Blues' takes it to even further, ridiculous extremes. Which is what great rock 'n' roll should do ' push beyond the comfort level, astound with its audacity and insanity, leaving you exhausted and purged.

1. Down on the Street - 3:43
2. Loose - 3:34
3. T.V. Eye - 4:17
4. Dirt - 7:03
5. 1970 - 5:15 (also known as "I Feel Alright")
6. Fun House - 7:47
7. L.A. Blues - 4:57

The Stooges
*Iggy Pop- Vocals
*Ron Asheton- Guitar
*Dave Alexander- Bass
*Scott Asheton- Drums
*Steven Mackay- Tenor Saxophone

Free Text
Text Host


  1. thanks man you are great.also a great post.keep on with the good job.thanks

  2. Το σώσαμε και αυτό...
    Σε ευχαριστώ πολύ Μάριε!

  3. Ενα έμεινε από STOOGES και τελειώσαμε .Βάλε και το τρίτο καί είμαστε πλήρεις .ΣΕ ΕΥΧΑΡΙΣΤΩ ΠΟΛΥ.

  4. Hello amigo Marios, excellent post.
    I needed the upgrade to this remaster.
    Definitely you have a tremendous collection, thanks for sharing.

  5. Brilliant, and thanks for all the Stooges posts. Really love seeing the original artwork again, since my LP copy is long gone. I'm back into one of my not-infrequent Iggy listening phases. Sparked by the purchase of the Pop/Williamson Kill City restored version. I had always dismissed this as a second rate release for the Iggster, but it is a really good album. But I digress, thanks for the Stooges.

  6. Excellent proto-punk and hard rock. Many thanks Marios for this fantastic edition!

  7. ....welcome back to FUNHOUSE....