In The Land Of FREE we still Keep on Rockin'

It's Not Dark Yet

Plain and Fancy

Music gives soul to universe, wings to mind, flight to imagination, charm to sadness, and life to everything.


Tuesday, April 15, 2014

Brewer And Shipley - Down In L.A. (1967-68 us, marvelous psychedelic folk rock with country drops, 2012 bonus track issue)

From the beginning Down In L.A. never got its due when staff songwriters Michael Brewer and Tom Shipley immediately split L.A. after recording the album for A and M.  The newly formed record label figured their songwriters had left the music business altogether. A year later Brewer  and  Shipley, now signed as recording artists by Buddah Kama Sutra, released their classic folk-rock Weeds album on their new label. 

Their debut album came about because A and M Records recognized that two of their staff songwriters had a unique sound of their own and green-lighted them to record an album including some of the songs they had sold to other artists.  The Down In L.A. album has sometimes been unjustly mislabeled a collection of demos.  The fact is, the album was professionally produced and recorded with some of the best studio musicians in the country, the now famous ‘Wrecking Crew.’  

These were not demo tapes.  Leon Russell, Jim Messina, Hal Blaine, Joe Osborn, and Jim Gordon were among the great supporting musicians supplying their talents.  As mentioned, several of the songs on the album were originally recorded by other artists when Michael  and  Tom were working solely as staff songwriters for A and M; but, as is usually the case, the songwriters’ interpretations of their own songs were superior to the other artists’ covers.  A good example is Brewer  and  Shipley’s version of Tom Shipley’s “Time  and  Changes,” which has a different feel and still sounds good by today’s standards, while the four 1967-68 covers of it by other artists all sound dated. 

While I love to hear Brewer  and  Shipley perform their songs with just acoustic guitars, I also love the production on Down In L.A. with its light orchestration and full rhythm section that still lets Brewer  and  Shipley’s, now trademark, intertwined acoustic guitars take center-stage.  It has a great sound, albeit different than their subsequent albums.  This is one of those albums where all the songs just seem to fit in mood, tone, and sound, like a Rubber Soul, an After The Goldrush, or a Tea For The Tillerman.  All those albums had songs that fit together and created an overall mood for the album.  

Down In L.A. fits in that ilk. Because Down In L.A. was the only album recorded on A and M, none of these songs ever made it to Brewer  and  Shipley’s Buddah compilation CDs, but there are more than a half dozen songs that could have legitimately been included on any label-neutral best-of compilation.  Truly Right, Time  and  Changes, and Keeper Of The Keys were good enough to be covered by other artists, and other songs from the album like the beautiful Green Bamboo, Dreamin' In The Shade (Down In L.A.), An Incredible State Of Affairs, and the haunting I Can't See Her, are equally worthy of inclusion on a Brewer  and  Shipley anthology.

If asked to pick their favorite Brewer  and  Shipley album, most fans would understandably pick Weeds or Tarkio.  If asked to pick my favorite, I would have to stop and think about whether it would be Down In L.A. or Weeds.   Down In L.A. is a great album that has its own beautiful and unique Brewer  and  Shipley sound, and after almost 44 years, this lost classic album has finally been released on CD. 
Bil/bard Magazine October 26, 1968

1. Truly Right (Mike Brewer) - 2:46
2. She Thinks She's A Woman - 3:26
3. Time And Changes (Tom Shipley) - 2:05
4. Small Town Girl - 2:10
5. I Can't See Her - 2:50
6. Green Bamboo - 3:10
7. An Incredible State Of Affairs - 3:10
8. Keeper Of The Keys - 3:24
9. Love, Love (Brewer  And  Shipley, K. Brewer) - 3:12
10.Dreamin' In The Shade - 2:10
11.Mass For M'lady - 3:17
12.Keeper Of The Keys (Bonus Track, Mono Mix) - 3:23
All songs by Mike Brewer, Tom Shipley unless otherwise stated.

*Mike Brewer - Vocals, Guitars, Percussion
*Tom Shipley - Vocals, Guitars, Percussion
*Nick Decaro - Strings, Horns
*Jim Gordon - Drums
*Hal Blaine - Drums
*Milt Holland - Percussion
*Lyle Ritz - Bass
*Jim Messina - Bass
*Joe Osborn - Bass
*Russell Bridges - Electric Piano, Organ
*Mike Melvoin - Organ
*Lance Wakely - Elecdtric Guitar, Harp

Free Text
the Free Text


  1. Great album, overall, but 'Mass For M'lady' is a masterpiece. Thanks a lot...

  2. a wonderful record that I only discovered recently...great stuff!
    Time and Changes would become 'She's got the time' by the Poor, also done by UK band the Afex...
    Keeper of the Keys would appear on the second H.P.Lovecraft album as the closing track...

  3. Marios - thanks for this one AND all the other great posts you've been doing lately - much appreciated!

  4. great group with a fine music that will last for a long time. thank you.

  5. fantastic album, thanks Marios !!!

  6. Great album - thank you very much!

  7. Thanks. I found out about this album just the other day

  8. Υπέροχες σκληρό μου αγαπητέ Μάριος! Αγκαλιά.
    Rene - Βραζιλία

  9. Yes, an excellent album. Thanks very much!

  10. Thanks Marios.....good choice and nice write up...cheers.