In The Land Of FREE we still Keep on Rockin'

It's Not Dark Yet

Plain and Fancy

Music gives soul to universe, wings to mind, flight to imagination, charm to sadness, and life to everything.


Monday, October 14, 2013

MC5 - Kick Out The Jams (1969 us, superb classic raw 'n' roll, 2013 japan SHM remaster)

There is no way to get at the music without taking the whole context of the music too - there is no separation. We say the MC5 is the solution to the problem of separation, because they are so together. The MC5 is totally committed to the revolution, as the revolution is totally committed to driving people out of their separate shells and into each other's arms.

I'm talking about unity, brothers and sisters, because we have to get it together. We are the solution to the problem, if we will be just that. If we can feel it, LeRoi Jones said, 'feeling predicts intelligence." The MC5 will make you feel it, or leave the room. The MC5 will drive you crazy out of your head into your body. The MC5 is rock and roll. Rock and roll is the music of our bodies, or our whole lives - the resensifier, Rob Tyner calls it. We have to come together people, "Build to a gathering," or else. Or else you are dead, and gone.

The MC5 will bring you back to your senses from wherever you have been taken to hide. They are bad. Their whole lives are totally given to this music. They are a whole thing. They are a working model of the new paleocybernetic culture in action. There is no separation. They love together to work together, they eat together, fuck together, get high together, walk down the street and through the world together. There is no separation. Just as their music will bring you together like that, if you hear it. If you will live it. And we will make sure you hear it; because we know you need it as bad as we do. We have to have it.

The music is the source and effect of our spirit flesh. The MC5 is the source and effect of the music, just as you are. Just as I am. Just to hear the music and have it be our selves, is what we want. What we need. We are a lonely desperate people, pulled apart be the killer forces of capitalism and competition, and we need the music to hold us together. Separation is doom. We are free men, and we demand a free music, a free high energy source that will drive us wild into the streets of America yelling and screaming and tearing down everything that would keep people slaves.

The MC5 is that force. The MC5 is the revolution, in all its applications. There is no separation. Everything is everything. There is no thing to fear. The music will make you strong, as it is strong, and there is no way it can be stopped now. All power to the people! The MC5 is here now for you to hear and see and feel now! Give it up - come together - get down, brothers and sisters, it's time to testify, and what you have here in your hands is a living testimonial to the absolute power and strength of these men. Go wild! The word is yours! Take it now, and be one with it! Kick out the jams, motherfucker!

And stay alive with the MC5!
by John Sinclair, from original album notes, Friday, December 13th 1968. 

1. Ramblin' Rose (Fred Burch, Marijohn Wilkin) - 4:15
2. Kick Out The Jams - 2:52
3. Come Together - 4:29
4. Rocket Reducer No. 62 (Rama Lama Fa Fa Fa) - 5:41
5. Borderline - 2:45
6. Motor City Is Burning  (Al Smith) - 6:04
7. I Want You Right Now (Colin Frechter, Larry Page) - 5:31
8. Starship (MC5, Sun Ra) - 8:15
All songs written and composed by MC5 except as stated.

*Rob Tyner – Lead Vocals
*Wayne Kramer – Lead, Rhythm Guitar, Lead Vocals (Ramblin' Rose)
*Fred "Sonic" Smith – Rhythm,  Lead Guitar, Backing Vocals
*Michael Davis – Bass, Backing Vocals
*Dennis Thompson – Drums

1970  Back In The USA (Japan SHM)
1971  High Time (2013 Japan SHM)

Free Text
Just Paste


  1. A real classic. Thanks very much...

  2. Thank you for all MC5 albums.SHM versions sounds really great...

  3. Hi Marios, thank you for the SHM edition!!

  4. Thanks for completing the SHM MC5!

  5. um... er.. the flac link is more

    any chance of a re-up?

    many thanks either way

  6. can you repload the mp3 !! please

  7. Many thanks for all these AWESOME MC5 albums! They still kick ass after all this time! :)

  8. Thank you for this one Marios.