In The Land Of FREE we still Keep on Rockin'

It's Not Dark Yet

Plain and Fancy

Music gives soul to universe, wings to mind, flight to imagination, charm to sadness, and life to everything.


Saturday, July 20, 2013

The Hobbits - Down To Middle Earth (1967 us, smart sunny folk psych, original Vinyl issue)

Folk-rock outfit the Hobbits was the studio project of Queens, New York-born singer/songwriter Jimmy Curtiss, who ranks as one of the more interesting footnotes in the history of rock & roll -- the rare would-be teen idol who actually wrote his own material (and did so admirably), he later expanded his reach into psychedelia and harmony-laden folk-rock, but while the subject of a small cult following, none of his records ever made a commercial dent. 

Curtiss first surfaced in 1959 as a member of the doo wop combo the Enjays and issued his solo debut, "Without You," on United Artists in 1961 -- the label attempted to position him as a teen crooner in the mold of Bobby Vee or Paul Anka, but he failed to make a commercial impact. After a period working as a songwriter he dropped out of music to pursue a career in advertising before resurfacing in 1967 with the bubblegum cult classic "Psychedelic Situation," a major hit in Germany that attracted little attention at home. 

Curtiss then signed to Decca, collaborating with producers Jerry Vance and Terry Phillips and songwriter Marcia Hillman on the Hobbits -- despite borrowing their name from J.R.R. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings novels and titling their 1967 debut Down to Middle Earth, the Hobbits turned out relatively straightforward sunshine pop, and the album is much sought-after by soft-psych aficionados. The follow-up, Men and Doors: The Hobbits Communicate, appeared in 1968 -- like its predecessor, the record didn't sell, and Decca terminated the contract. 

Curtiss then formed his own label and production company, both dubbed Perception, and helmed an LP and three singles by the psychedelic soul act the Bag, members of which reportedly worked on the Hobbits project as well. Speaking of which, after rechristening the group the New Hobbits, Curtiss released 1969's Back From Middle Earth, essentially a solo effort. According to the liner notes in the second volume of the Soft Sounds for Gentle People series, he eventually ended up in San Francisco, going solely by the initials J.C. -- his current activities and whereabouts are unknown. 
by Jason Ankeny

1. Down To Middle Earth (Alan Bernstein, Jerry Vance, Terry Philips) - 2:52
2. I'm Just A Young Man (Jimmy Curtiss) - 2:53
3. Daffodil Days (The Affection Song) (A. Bernstein, J. Vance, T. Philips) - 3:17
4. Break Away (J. Curtiss, L. Zerato) - 2:53
5. Treatsb (J. Vance, T. Philips) - 2:42
6. Hands And Knees  (J. Curtiss, T. Faranda) - 2:48
7. Let Me Run My Fingers Through Your Mind (Buy Me Flowers) (A. Bernstein, J. Vance, T. Philips) - 2:48
8. Out Of My Mind (J. Curtiss) - 2:39
9. Clap Hands Til Daddy Comes Home (J. Curtiss, T. Philips) - 2:28
10.Sunny Day Girl (Jimmy Curtiss) - 2:32

*Jimmy Curtiss - Vocals

Related Act
1969  Jimmy Curtiss - Life

Free Text
The Free Text


  1. Σε ευχαριστώ πολύ Μάριε για ακόμα ένα upgrade.

  2. Haven't heard this in decades! Brings back lots of memories. Thanks for the post.

  3. Thanks for posting this one...I want more '60's pop-psych!! I love it !!

  4. Oh Marios,
    This is so sweet.
    Thank you very much for the Hobbits!

  5. anyone else getting an error w/ the ZIP file decompression?

  6. Goodwill Hunter,
    just checked d/l and extract both formats, I didn't found any error, try to unzip with another tool (7-zip).
    Thank you.