In The Land Of FREE we still Keep on Rockin'

It's Not Dark Yet

Plain and Fancy

Music gives soul to universe, wings to mind, flight to imagination, charm to sadness, and life to everything.


Friday, July 5, 2013

Caravan - In The Land Of Grey And Pink (1971 uk, fantastic progressive rock, canterbury scene, japan SHM-CD remaster)

In the Land of Grey and Pink is considered by many to be a pinnacle release from Caravan. The album contains an undeniable and decidedly European sense of humor and charm. In addition, this would mark the end of the band's premiere lineup. Co-founder David Sinclair would leave Caravan to form Matching Mole with Soft Machine drummer and vocalist Robert Wyatt in August of 1971.

As a group effort, In the Land of Grey and Pink displays all the ethereal brilliance Caravan created on their previous pair of 12" outings. Their blending of jazz and folk instrumentation and improvisational styles hints at Traffic and Family, as displayed on "Winter Wine," as well as the organ and sax driven instrumental introduction to "Nine Feet Underground." These contrast the decidedly aggressive sounds concurrent with albums from King Crimson or Soft Machine. In fact, beginning with the album's title, there seems to be pastoral qualities and motifs throughout.

Another reason enthusiasts rank this album among their favorites is the group dynamic which has rarely sounded more singular or cohesive. David Sinclair's lyrics are of particular note, especially the middle-earth imagery used on "Winter Wine" or the enduring whimsy of "Golf Girl." The remastered version of this album includes previously unissued demos/alternate versions of both tracks under the titles: "It's Likely to Have a Name Next Week" and "Group Girl," respectively.

The remastered disc also includes "I Don't Know Its Name (Alias the Word)" and "Aristocracy," two pieces that were completed, but shelved in deference to the time limitations imposed during the days of wine and vinyl. The latter composition would be reworked and released on Caravan's next album, Waterloo Lily. The 12-page liner notes booklet includes expanded graphics, memorabilia, and an essay penned specifically for the reissue.
by Lindsay Planer

1. Golf Girl - 5:05
2. Winter Wine - 7:46
3. Love To Love You (And Tonight Pigs Will Fly) - 3:06
4. In The Land Of Grey And Pink - 4:51
5. Nine Feet Underground: - 22:40
...Nigel Blows A Tune
...Love's A Friend
...Make It 76
...Dance Of The Seven Paper Hankies
...Hold Grandad By The Nose
...Honest I Did!
...100% Proof
6. I Don't Know Its Name - 6:12
7. Aristocracy - 3:42
8. It's Likely To Have A Name Next Week - 7:48
9. Group Girl - 5:04
10. "Dissassociation/100% Proof" (New Mix) (D. Sinclair) 8:35
All tracks by R. Coughlan, P. Hastings, R. Sinclair, D. Sinclair except where noted.

*Richard Sinclair - Bass Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Vocals
*Pye Hastings - Electric. Guitars, Acoustic Guitar, Vocals
*David Sinclair - Organ, Piano, Mellotron, Harmony Vocals
*Richard Coughlan - Drums, Percussion
*Jimmy Hastings - Flute, Tenor Saxophone, Piccolo
*David Grinsted - Cannon, Bell, Wind

Free Text
Text Host


  1. Πολλά ευχαριστώ Μάριε για αυτή τη lossless ανάρτηση!!!!

  2. Great album--it's funny Sinclair would leave after this album; he got more solo time here than he ever did with Matching Mole. Just wrote about this one too on my music blog. Have a good one!

  3. Very nice indeed, I also find the first (1968) album from Caravan fantastic, it's actually quite different from this one.

  4. teres a new 40th anniversary edition,its posible to post here?

  5. Hello Mr Marios! Unfortunately, link is dead for this one.. Thank you for your good action. Have a nice day/night! Cheers

  6. Olfrec, All Caravan posts updated...