In The Land Of FREE we still Keep on Rockin'

It's Not Dark Yet

Plain and Fancy

Music gives soul to universe, wings to mind, flight to imagination, charm to sadness, and life to everything.


Wednesday, May 14, 2014

Hookfoot - Roaring (1973 uk, great tough southern blues rock, expanded edition)

Hookfoot, created by Southampton based musicians vocalist Ian Duck, bassist Dave Glover and drummer Roger Pope, was virtually the side act to their day jobs as session musicians for Elton John. The band started life as an R&B band The Soul Agents in 1965. A name change to The Final One then led to Hookfoot. The debut album, which found the band ploughing a similar Country Rock furrow to Cochise and covering songs by Neil Young, saw the addition of vocalist Peter Ross.

Hookfoot turned up en masse to supply the session music for solo artist John Kongas debut of the same year on Elektra Records as Quaye, Pope and Glover provided the backing.

The follow up album had Hookfoot joined by second guitarist American Bob Kulick. A period of flux followed as Kulick quit (later finding notoriety with session work for Kiss and his stints with Blackjack, Balance, Meat Loaf and Skull). To keep things on the move after Glover departed Cochise guitarist Mick Grabham subbed on bass. Third album 'Communication' had the band up to full strength with bassist Fred Gandy.

Hookfoot made four albums under their own name between 1971 and 1974, none of which did particularly well anywhere. None charted in the States. And by 1974, the bandmembers’ reputations as session players led to the breakup of the band. According to bassist Fred Gandy, who had replaced Glover, “We were all getting offers to work elsewhere . . . the temptations were just too great.” Pope and Quaye would eventually join Elton John’s new band in 1975.

Guitarist Caleb Quaye appeared on numerous 70's Rock projects including The Who's 'Tommy' Extravaganza, Colosseum man Dick Heckstall-Smith's 1972 solo album, Cochise's debut 'Swallow Tales', Grabham's 'Mick The Lad' solo effort and ex Hawkwind man Steve Swindells 1974 solo album. The guitarist has also worked with Paul McCartney and Pete Townsend.

Far from the heaviest Rock Band Hookfoot nevertheless produced some interesting albums with worthy guitar work courtesy of Quaye. Glover became a studio engineer in later years working with Cinderella among others.

1. Tradin' Riffs (Caleb Quaye) - 4:36
2. Rockin' On The Road (Ian Duck) - 5:06
3. Maybe Tomorrow (Roger Pope, Caleb Quaye) - 3:44
4. Surely Lost Our Way (Ian Duck) - 2:44
5. In Many Ways (You're So Beautiful) (Ian Duck) - 4:33
6. Three Days Out (Caleb Quaye) - 4:45
7. Ridin' On A Thunderstorm (Ian Duck) - 6:00
8. Take It Where You Want It (R. Pope, I. Duck, C. Quaye, F. Gandy) - 0:56
9. There's A Chance (Caleb Quaye) - 3:41
10.Roll Of Drums (Ian Duck) - 5:34
11.Sweet Sweet Funky Music (Caleb Quaye) - 3:16
12.Living In The City (Caleb Quaye) - 4:56
13.If I Had The Words (R. Pope, I. Duck, C. Quaye, D. Glover) - 3:18
14.Gunner Webb's Changes (Ian Duck) - 3:14
15.The Painter (Caleb Quaye) - 6:06

*Ian Duck - Vocals, Guitar, Harmonica
*Fred Gandy - Bass
*Roger Pope - Drums
*Caleb Quaye - Vocals, Guitar, Keyboards

Free Text
the Free Text


  1. This is great band,and I think that they need much more attention in rock history...

  2. Very good album! Thanks a lot...

  3. Can't wait to listen to! Thanks Marios!

  4. Hi, I just had an unrelated question to this post. I noticed in older postings some of the depositfiles links say the file is an .exe, instead of a rar, does that mean it's no longer available? The size and download still appears possible but why the exe. then?

    1. Just a tip; never ever even touch anything with an .exe ending unless you specifically downloading a program. It's not good for your... anything, to put it simple.

  5. Its is a delight to see some of this wonderful band's music available on CD. "Living in the City", included here as a bonus is a masterpiece of its time. Thank you very much. Perhaps I can retire my old vinyl now!

  6. your blog is the awesomest! thanks for making my hump day a hell of a lot better!

  7. Thanks for another great album. Hookfoot was getting a lot heavier by this time and I really like this album!

  8. M, only part 1 is here, can you re up 2 please? Tanx!

  9. It's worth noting that Duck and Pope went on to play in a band called The Rhinomen in the 90s. I saw them several times in Portsmouth and was, only yesterday, listening to their CD Makin' Tracks.

  10. Thank you for this updated release, I have this lp, love the bonus tracks! Want to let you know that the links for Hard Times album are for a different album, Pt 1 of Communication, thanks again!!!

  11. Pope & Quaye were also in Elton John's Band in the end 70's.